Have questions? We have answers.

Scheduling

Students subscribe to group lessons meeting once a week. Please be aware there is no end date, but you can inform your students when you plan to end the class. You can add those details in the class description as well. When the time nears to end the group lesson, please message your students to let them know and you can delete the remainder of class. 

Watch this video to learn how to schedule a lesson.

Everything you see on your schedule is presented in your timezone but students will see it in their time zone. Your time will automatically adjust wherever you travel. 

Watch this video to learn how to schedule a lesson.

When a student books a 1-on-1 lesson with you, the student’s icon will show up on your schedule. A private chat is also created so you can communicate with your student and get prepared. Please remember teachers use the web app.hallo.tv to teach 10 minutes before your 1-on-1 lesson a “start” button will appear on the homepage (on the left-hand side mid-page). Click it to enter the lesson. If a student booked two or more lessons back-to-back, they are automatically combined into one lesson.

Students can book a lesson anywhere from weeks in advance to 1 hours before the scheduled start time. If you do not want to be booked an hour before class starts, please make the proper adjustments to your schedule.

Teachers have the opportunity to talk with individual students spontaneously when a student requests an InstaClass. These face-to-face classes are done on mobile and acceptance is optional. Teachers earn for every minute you spend teaching, and they start with $0.17/min ($10.20/hour) and can go up to $0.20/min ($12.00/hour) with no commission fees, based on how many classes they have taught on Hallo. 

Students have the option to select a specific teacher or send a request to all teachers that have the InstaClass function on. By default InstaClass is enabled. The first teacher to accept this request will get the class! This is a great way to meet students and direct them to your regular schedule. Just because you have the function on does not mean you will get requests.

Students can book available 1-on-1 lessons weeks in advance and as close to 1 hour before the start time.

1-on-1 lessons: When a student books a 1-on-1 lesson with you the time is blocked out on your schedule with the student’s picture. A private chat is also created so you can communicate with your student.

If a student booked two or more lessons back-to-back, they are automatically combined into one lesson. 

Group lessons: Students can subscribe to your group lesson that happens once a week in advance or even during the lesson, if there is space available. A list of subscribed students will appear on the public “class page”. Simply click your class from the schedules page and see all the students subscribed. 

You’ll be notified when a student subscribes and they will automatically be added to a group chat. Group lessons will appear as red blocked out times on your schedule.

Yes. If a student would like to request a time, teachers will be notified and allowed to accept or decline the 1-on-1 lesson. Requests can be within minutes of start time. If a teacher misses or does not respond to the request, the class is automatically declined. This is considered a scheduled lesson.

Teachers should always teach from a computer for group lessons so they can share their screen. If necessary, teachers can teach from their phone but this is on the rare occasion. 

On the homepage below your profile image and Hallo wallet you’ll find your schedule. You’ll notice 10 minutes before class there is a green or blue start button. 

You can also start your lessons from your profile page or your calendar.

If a teacher is 5 minutes late, the student is refunded and the teacher is not paid. Leaving the class 55 minutes or sooner is considered a no show and the teacher will most likely receive a 1-star review and no incentive pay. 

If the student is late but the teacher was on time, the teacher is paid in full. Teachers are required to stay for 1/2 of the class duration.

If you are going to be a couple of minutes late to your class please communicate this with your student through the chat, and if it’s necessary you can call them. 

If the class drops because of technical difficulties, you will still be paid as long as you joined in those first 5 minutes and taught the whole lesson. Quickly rejoin the lesson and continue teaching.

If you can’t join at the start or before the first 5 minutes, because of technical difficulties, this will be a no show and 1 star review. Teachers can try joining 10 minutes before, to do testing.

Teachers can edit or delete lessons on the web or on mobile. 

  • Delete on the web: select the lesson on your calendar and click the trashcan icon. 
  • Edit on the web: select the lesson on your calendar and click the pencil icon. You are able to edit the thumbnail, description, and title. 
  • Delete on mobile: select the lesson from your profile page by clicking and holding. You will be given an option to cancel the next lesson or delete all remaining lessons. 
  • Edit on the mobile: select the lesson from your profile page by clicking and holding. Choose edit the lesson and you can update the thumbnail, description, and title.

Learn more here

Teachers can cancel their 1-on-1 and group lessons. Teachers can cancel lessons with students 24 hours in advance. 

Students can cancel 24 hours in advance and get a 100% refund. If they cancel within 24 hours they will get a 50% refund.

Students and teachers cannot cancel a lesson within 1 hour of that lesson.

We recommend communicating with your students, if there is a conflict and you’re unable to attend. There is a chat that is automatically created once the lesson is scheduled. 

If lessons are not booked you can easily delete them from your schedule.

At the end of each lesson including no shows and late lessons, students and teachers can leave a review for one another.

Hallo uses a Bayesian Average to determine a teacher’s rating. It is a weighted average that is often used on sites where individual people receive ratings from others. When there are only a few data points, the Bayesian Average discounts the basic average, relative to the average of all the teachers on Hallo.

As the teacher receives more ratings, there is more confidence that the teacher’s basic average is accurate. Over time, as the teacher earns ratings, the Bayesian Average converges with the teacher’s basic average.

If the student does not leave a rating for the lesson, the rating for the lesson will be 5 stars by default.